**Happy New Year! Check out our New Year Sale**


Posted on February 27 2019

We're very excited to see four recent PBS Selections on the Poetry Society's Ted Hughes Award for New Work in poetry shortlist this year!

The Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry seeks to recognise excellence in poetry, highlighting outstanding contributions made by poets to our cultural life. The £5,000 prize is donated by Carol Ann Duffy, funded from the annual honorarium the Poet Laureate traditionally receives from HM The Queen.

Here is the full shortlist:

Susan Richardson - Words the Turtle Taught Me (Cinnamon Press)

Roy McFarlane - The Healing Next Time (Nine Arches)

Raymond Antrobus - The Perseverance (Penned)

Hannah Sullivan - Three Poems (Faber)

Tishani Doshi - The Girls are Coming out of the Woods (Bloodaxe)

The Ted Hughes Award is informed by recommendations from members of The Poetry Society and our very own Poetry Book Society. This year the award will be judged by Linton Kwesi JohnsonMark Oakley and Clare Shaw. Recommendations have now closed and the judges will announce the winner in March 2019.

Don't forget Poetry Society members get 10% off orders on our website. Simply contact the Poetry Society with your membership number for the special discount code.

All Poetry Book Society members automatically get 25% off your book orders. Simply click on the links above to order your copies today.

Recent Posts