25% off Poetry Books for Members




Vidyan Ravinthiran's first book of poems, Grun-tu-molani (Bloodaxe, 2014), was shortlisted for a number of First Collection prizes, including the Forward, and poems towards his next, The Million-Petalled Flower of Being Here, won a Northern Writers Award this year. Elizabeth Bishop’s Prosaic (Bucknell UP, 2015), his study of that wonderfully gifted US poet, won both the University English First Book Prize and the Warren-Brooks Award for Outstanding Literary Criticism. He has also written a range of literary journalism, most recently for Poetry (verse) and The Telegraph (fiction); he won this year Poetry’s Editors’ Prize for Reviewing. He has just completed his first novel, Reincarnation, and is represented as an author of fiction by The Wylie Agency. Vidyan is an editor at the online magazine of poetry and poetics, Prac Crit, and teaches at the University of Birmingham.


Sandeep Parmar co-directs the University of Liverpool's Centre for New and International Writing and is Senior Lecturer in English Literature. She is the author of Reading Mina Loy's Autobiographies, scholarly editions of The Collected Poems of Hope Mirrlees and Selected Poems of Nancy Cunard (Carcanet) and two poetry books from Shearsman: The Marble Orchard and the Ledbury Forte prize-winning Eidolon. Her essays and reviews have appeared in the Guardian, the TLS, the Financial TimesPoetry Review and the Los Angeles Review of Books. She is a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Thinker and a judge for the 2017 Forward Prize for Poetry.   



 A.B. Jackson is the author of Fire Stations (Anvil), winner of the Forward Prize
for Best First Collection in 2003, Apocrypha (Donut Press), a PBS Pamphlet Choice in 2011, and The Wilderness Party (Bloodaxe Books), a PBS Recommendation for autumn 2015.



 Originally from the Midlands, Degna Stone is now based in Tyne and Wear. She is a co-founder of  Butcher’s Dog poetry magazine, a Contributing Editor at The Rialto and is currently a Poetry Book Society pamphlet selector. She received a Northern Writers Award in 2015, holds an MA in Creative Writing from Newcastle University and is a fellow of The Complete Works III. Magazine and online publications include: The Black Light Engine Room, DiamondTwig, Ink, Sweat & Tears, The Ofi Press and The Rialto. Appearances include: Durham Book Festival, Newcastle Poetry Festival, StAnza International Poetry Festival, Stoke Literary Festival and BBC Radio 3s The Verb.



George Szirtes (b. 1948) is a poet and translator who settled in England after his family fled the Hungarian Uprising of 1956. He currently teaches creative writing at the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England and is trained as a painter. His translation of Satantango won the 2013 Best Translated Book Award, and his poetry has won many awards, including the Faber Memorial Prize (1980), the T.S. Eliot Prize (2005) and the Forward Poetry Prize (2009).


ANTHONY ANAXAGOROU has published nine volumes of poetry, a spoken-word EP and a collection of short stories. His work has appeared on BBC Newsnight, Radio 4, ITV and Sky Arts as well as being published in The Feminist Review, Amnesty International’s Words That Burn and John Berger’s anthology The Long White Thread of Words. He was commissioned by the Labour Party during the 2017 general election to write their campaign poem. In 2015 he won the Groucho Maverick Award and in 2016 he was shortlisted for the Hospital Club’s H-100 award for influential people. In 2012 he founded Out-Spoken, London’s premier poetry and music night, and Out-Spoken Press, an independent publisher which challenges the lack of diversity in British publishing.