Skip to content

** Summer Book Box due out in June. Members get 25% off Books **

Music, Awake Her by Martha Kapos PRE-ORDER

Regular price £12.99

Unit price per 

only 0 left in stock

Published 21st May 2024. Available for pre-order.

In Music, Awake Her, Martha Kapos discovers a way of using sonata form to emphasise and reveal key episodes of feeling, ones returned to in different poems written in various moods over a period of nearly 30 years. She imagines sonata form as a narrative structure - with relations to parents giving rise to the two key themes, the child's conflicts, modulations and resolutions between the two outlining an emotional trajectory that leads from early life, the exposition, through adulthood, development, to the new poems embodying the recapitulations of old age. In his Afterword, American musicologist Lawrence Kramer writes that the ‘revisited past is the only past we have.

The question of sonata form is how to find it. The interlocking of themes and images here makes this Selected and New Poems a remarkable, and psychologically acute, showcase for Martha Kapos's work.

Two Rivers Press



Join the Poetry Book Society for 25% off all books

Close (esc)


Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now