Skip to content

** Summer Book Box due out in June. Members get 25% off Books **

Masculinity: An anthology of modern voices

Regular price £16.99

Unit price per 

only -1 left in stock

Please note: Individual book orders to Europe are shipped DDU (Delivery Duties Unpaid) and customers in the EU may have to pay local import VAT and customs duties in the receiving country. This doesn't apply to quarterly member mailings.

Masculinity: an anthology of modern voices is a book of poetry which aims to showcase the diversity of what it means to be a man and what it means to embrace its multitudes. These poems emphasise that masculinity is not a monolithic concept, but a dynamic, evolving force that can be shaped by culture, society, and personal experiences. Including poetry from Andrew McMillan, Ian Duhig, Michael Pedersen, Andre Bagoo, Pádraig Ó Tuama and more, this is a powerful, visceral reminder that masculinity is so much more than the sum of its parts, and a call to open up a dialogue about masculinity that is inclusive, progressive, and affirming.



Simon Alderwick, Giovan Alonzi, Matt Alton, Paul Atten Ash, Barney Ashton-Bullock, Andre Bagoo, Peter Bakowski, Robert Bal, Ben Banyard, Jack Belloli, Brandon T. Bennett, Tom Bennett, Andrew Blair, Brian Blanchfield, Mark Blayney, Dale Booton, Graham Buchan, Matthew Buckley Smith, Troy Cabida, Dave Calder, Jamie Cameron, Graham Clifford, Oliver Comins, Nathan Copeland, Al Crow, Martyn Crucefix, Ralph Dartford, Gram Joel Davies, Lewis Wyn Davies, Jaydn DeWald, Francis DiClemente, Rick Dove, Rory M. J. Duffy, Ian Duhig, Tim Dwyer, T.P.E., Laurie Eaves, Ken Evans, Kristian Evans, Nathan Evans, Mark Fiddes, Jamie Field, Wesley Finch, Alec Finlay, Elliott Flanagan, Daragh Fleming, Paul Francis, Steve Garrett, Tomara Garrod, András Gerevich, (Translated by Andrew Fentham), Sam Gilchrist Hall, Remi Graves, Stevie Green, Justin Groppuso-Cook, Sam J. Grudgings, Robert Hamberger, Oz Hardwick, Connor Harrison, Stevie Harrison, Matthew Hedley Stoppard, Cal Hemming, Stu Hennigan, Nicholas Hogg, Patrick Holloway, Christopher Horton, Charlie Hounsell, Kit Ingram, Paul Ings, Justin Karcher, Gregory Kearns, Matthew Keeley, Aaron Kent, Tim Kiely, Tony Kitt, Phil Knight, Ashish Kumar Singh, Steve Lang, Josh Lefkowitz, Tim Liardet, Romardo Lyons, Ewan MacKinnon, Simon Maddrell, Tshegofatjo Makhafola, Rhys Mancell Smith, Jude Marr, James McDermott, Andrew McDonnell, Tom McLaughlin, Andrew McMillan, Stuart McPherson, Rob Miles, Dan Mountain, Francis-Xavier Mukiibi, Adriano Noble, Neil O'Hara, John Oberholzer, Andrés N. Ordorica, Pádraig Ó Tuama, Antony Owen, D. M. Palmer, Luke Palmer, Daniele Pantano, Caleb Parkin, Stephen Payne, Andrew Payton, Michael Pedersen, Mario Petrucci, Sam Phipps, Richard Price, Simon Rees, Timothy Resau, Dean Rhetoric, Mark Robinson, Jonny Rodgers, Stevie Ronnie, Mark Roper, Sandeep Sandhu, Ben Sargent, Joshua Seigal, Robert Sheppard, Oliver Shrouder, Dan Simpson, Tom Snarsky, Jack Solloway, Yago Soto, Ankh Spice, Hen St Leger, Rob Stanton, Jack Sullivan, Samuel Tongue, Trelawney, Aled Turner, Michael VanCalbergh, Rob Vance, Tom Velho, Wes Viola, Erich von Hungen, Sean Wai Keung, Elliot Waloschek, Christian Ward, David Ward, Mark Ward, Robert N. Watson, John White, Rhys Owain Williams, Mick Wood, Spencer Wood, Gregory Woods, Luke Worthy


ABOUT Rick Dove, Aaron Kent, and Stuart McPherson:

Rick Dove is a progressive poet and activist from South West London. Published widely in anthologies and journals since 2016, and dubbed "one to watch" by TS Eliot Prize winner Roger Robinson, Rick also has two full collections with Burning Eye Books, Tales From the Other Box (August 2020), and Supervillain Origin Story (May 2023). Rick has performed across the UK and internationally and was crowned Hammer & Tongue UK Poetry Slam Champion in 2021.


Aaron Kent is a working-class writer, stroke survivor, and insomniac from Cornwall. His 2nd collection, The Working Classic, is available from the87press. He has read his poetry for The BBC, The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, and Stroke Association, had work published in various journals, and is an Arvon tutor. His poetry has been translated into languages including French, Hungarian, German, Cymraeg, and Kernewek, and has been set to music.


Stuart McPherson is a prize-winning poet from the UK. His poems have appeared in Butcher’s Dog Magazine, Bath Magg, Poetry Wales, Anthropocene, Blackbox Manifold, Prelude and One Hand Clapping. In October 2022, Stuart was the winner of the Ambit Annual Poetry Competition. His second collection, End Ceremonies, was published via Broken Sleep Books on August 31st 2023.


Royalties from the sale of this book will be donated to Beyond Equality.

Beyond Equality works to engage men in a brave and transformative rethinking of what 'being a man' means for them and others. Through workshops in schools, universities, workplaces, and other sites, we give people the opportunity to make a difference to issues that matter to them. We believe men can and must play a role in undoing the violence of sexism and patriarchy, and help to build a world based on respectful, positive, and equitable relationships.

Broken Sleep Books



Join the Poetry Book Society for 25% off all books

Close (esc)


Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now