Article Image Founded by T S Eliot and friends in 1953, the Poetry Book Society is a unique poetry society, providing information, guidance and discounts on the best contemporary poetry for a wide-ranging community of readers. The PBS is the biggest dedicated poetry bookseller in the UK.

If you are a member, log in above to access exclusive content and to buy from the Poetry Bookshop Online at a 25% discount.

Members' News

Debut Collection Wins T S Eliot Prize
The Poetry Book Society is delighted to announce that this year's winner of the 2015 T S Eliot Prize is Sarah Howe for her debut collection Loop of Jade, an intimate exploration of her Anglo-Chinese heritage though her journeys to Hong Kong to discover her roots. This is the first time a debut collection has won the prize. Chair Pascale Petit said:

"In a year with an incredibly ambitious and diverse shortlist, it was difficult to choose the winner. However Sarah Howe's Loop of Jade shone with its startling exploration of gender and injustice through place and identity, its erudition, and powerful imagery as well as her daring experiment with form. She brings new possibilities to British poetry."



PBS Selections Summer 2016

PBS Selections Summer 2016
Wednesday February 2016

The PBS Summer 2016 Selections have been announced.... more