Cardiff International Poetry Competition

Article Image

Posted: 3 February 2011

The 2011 Cardiff International Poetry Competition is open and receiving entries. The first prize-winner will walk way with a cheque for £5000 for just one poem.Further prizes available are £500 for second place, £250 for third plus five runners up will receive £50 each.

The competition is accessible to all; it doesn't matter if you are an established poet or just dabble with verse now and then. Whether you're from Merthyr or Malawi ; Pwllheli or Portugal we want your poems.

The hard task of judging the 2011 competition will be down to mutli award-winning poets Don Paterson and Philip Gross. Don Paterson has won a number of awards for his poetry, including the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, the Whitbread Poetry Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Award, and the T S Eliot Prize on two occasions. Most recently his collection Rain (Faber and Faber, 2009; Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2010) won the 2009 Forward Prize. 

Philip Gross' poetry, up to and including the Whitbread Prize shortlisted The Wasting Game, is collected in Changes of Address (2001). Bloodaxe has since published three more collections, the latest of which, The Water Table (2009) won the T S Eliot Prize. I Spy Pinhole Eye (Cinnamon, 2009), with photographs by Simon Denison, was the English-language winner of Wales Book of the Year 2010.

When entering make sure your poem is no longer than 50 lines, is unpublished, in English and not a translation of another author's work and then send it to Academi with an entry form and payment. Entry fee is £6.00 per poem.The Cardiff International Poetry Competition is administered by Academi with the financial support of Cardiff Council.

Closing Date: Friday 25 March 2011

To receive an entry form, send a stamped, self-addressed envelope to:Academi, CIPC11 Entry Form, Mount Stuart House, Mount Stuart Square ,Cardiff , Wales , UK , CF10 5FQ or visit

For more information contact Academi:029 2047 2266 /


Source: The Cardiff International Poetry Competition

Categories: Poetry News, Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news