The Bridport Prize 2011

Article Image

Posted: 3 February 2011

The Bridport Prize is one of the richest open writing competitions in the English languge- with a £5000 first prize for a short story (of up to 5000 words); and a £5000 first prize for a poem (of up to 42 lines). Our new category of Flash Fiction attracts a first prize of £1000, to be won for the best short, short story of under 250 words.

The Bridport is also known as a tremendous literary stepping stone- the first step in the careers of writers such as: Kate Atkinson, Tobias Hill, Carol Ann Duffy and Helen Dunmore.

Anyone can enter- so long as the owrk is previously unpublished. It costs £7 per story, £6 per poem or £5 per flash fiction.

The closing date is June 30th 2011, and entries can be made by post, or online:

With categories in both short stories, judges by A L Kennedy and poetry, judged by Carol Ann Duffy, hobbyists and ambitious young writers have plenty of scope for success.

Source: The Bridport Prize

Categories: Poetry News, Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news