Shortlist for the 2010 Crashaw Prize

Article Image

Posted: 3 February 2011

The Crashaw Prize is the only international poetry prize for full length collections of poetry written in English. This year, there were over eighty entries from four continents.

What characterises this year's entries is the clear points of contact many poets now have through the Web and social networks into communities of readers who are, as it were, without borders. Though poetry can be passionately local, its new habitat is online and global, and this brings with it a new excitement and a new set of ambitions for poets writing today in our networked societies.

The prize, now in its third year, has come reflect both this extraordinary plurality of practice and the continuing excitement poetry evokes in communities far and wide - poetry is clearly thriving.

This year's shortlist:

Vesna Goldsworthy The Angel of Salonika (UK/Serbia)
Rebecca Lehmann Between the Crackups (USA)
Lauren Levin Not Time (USA)
Alice Miller Theatre of Strangers (New Zealand)
Stephen Nelson Lunar Poems for New Religions (UK)
Charlotte Pence Other Interruptions (USA)
Aidan Semmens The Book of Esdras (UK)
Catherine Theis The Fraud of Good Sleep (USA)

The winners will be announced in during April, National Poetry Month.

The Crashaw Prize is administered by Salt and judged by Publisher, Chris Hamilton-Emery. The prize began in 2008. Winners are published the following year of entry. Since the prize began it has successfully published ten first collections. Previous winners include:

2009 Winners:

Nathan Hoks Reveilles (USA)
Andrew Pidoux Year of the Lion (UK)
Nick Potamitis The Book of Night Terrors (UK)
Jonty Tiplady Zam Bonk Dip (UK)
Ryan van Winkle Tomorrow, We Will Live Here (UK)
Anna Woodford Birdhouse (UK)

2008 Winners:

Tom Chivers How to Build a City (UK)
Abi Curtis Unexpected Weather (UK)
Jamey Dunham The Bible of Lost Pets (USA)
Jared Stanley Book Made of Forest (USA)

For more information please contact Chris Hamilton-Emery on 01223 882220 or

Source: Salt Publishing

Categories: Poetry News, Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news