Costa Book Awards 2010 Category Winners Announced

Article Image

Posted: 5 January 2011

On 4th January 2010, Costa Coffee announced the Costa Book Awards 2010 winners in the Novel, First Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book categories.

We are delighted that Jo Shapcott has won the Poetry Award for Of Mutability, a PBS Recommendation in Autumn 2010.

The Telegraph said:

Modest and potent, Of Mutability stands out among poetry collections this year

The judges said:

These strong poems are rooted in the poet's experience of breast cancer but are all about life, hope and play. Fizzing with variety, they are a paean to creativity and make the reader feel that what matters to us all is imagination, humanity and a smile

The five successful authors who will now compete for the 2010 Costa Book of the Year are:

Novelist and former journalist, Maggie O'Farrell, who wins her first major literary prize with her fifth novel, The Hand That First Held Mine.

Kishwar Desai who takes the First Novel Award for Witness the Night, which explores India's hidden female infanticide and the first book of a series featuring the unconventional female protagonist, Simran Singh.

Potter and ceramic artist, Edmund de Waal, who collects the Biography Award for his highly-acclaimed memoir, The Hare With Amber Eyes, which the judges called 'a truly special book'.

Jo Shapcott who wins the Poetry Award for Of Mutability, her first new work in over a decade in part influenced by her experience of breast cancer.

Debut writer and web designer, Jason Wallace, who beats best-selling author Jonathan Stroud to claim the Children's Book Award for Out of Shadows.

The Costa Book Awards recognise some of the most outstanding and enjoyable books of the last year by writers based in the UK and Ireland. Originally established in 1971 by Whitbread PLC, Costa announced its takeover of the sponsorship of the UK's popular and prestigious book prize in 2006.

The five Costa Book Award winners, each of whom will receive £5,000, were selected from 540 entries. The five books are now eligible for the ultimate prize - the 2010 Costa Book of the Year.

The winner, selected by a panel of judges chaired by publisher and broadcaster Andrew Neil and including David Morrissey, Elizabeth McGovern, Natasha Kaplinsky, Anneka Rice and Adele Parks, will be announced at an awards ceremony hosted by presenter and broadcaster Penny Smith at Quaglino's in central London on Tuesday 25th January 2011.

Since the introduction of the Book of the Year award in 1985, it has been won nine times by a novel, four times by a first novel, five times by a biography, six times by a collection of poetry and once by a children's book. The 2009 Costa Book of the Year was A Scattering by Christopher Reid.

Source: Costa Book Awards

Categories: Poetry News, Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news

Comments (0)

There are currently no comments for this article. Post a comment.

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment

Login now