Aldeburgh First Collection Prize 2010 – Winner announced

Article Image

Posted: 15 November 2010

The winner of the Aldeburgh First Collection Prize 2010 - one of the most important and established poetry awards in the UK - was announced at the 22nd Aldeburgh Poetry Festival on Friday 5 November at 8pm. The recipient of this best first collection prize is the young Caribbean poet Christian Campbell for Running the Dusk (Peepal Tree Press).

Judge Jo Shapcott praised the collection as a "bravura performance" describing Campbell's poems as "energetic, fluid and musical and full of loss, hope and imagination." The book, which was also shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, was described by fellow judge Neil Rollinson as "the clear stand out among all the volumes I read."

Campbell responded to news of his win with:

"Let's just say that I'm ‘feeling good' in the Nina Simone way! I'm honoured to be a part of a moment of great energy and transformation in contemporary poetry in the UK. It's very, very difficult for any young poet, and for any Caribbean poet, to get this level of recognition."

Jeremy Poynting, Founding Editor of Peepal Tree Press said:

"Christian is a hugely talented poet; his patience in waiting until he had a collection he was really comfortable with is a model for all young poets. We always felt confident Running the Dusk would be recognised for its outstanding qualities - its wit and its warmth."

In addition to a £3,000 cheque, Christian Campbell receives an invitation to read at next year's 23rd Aldeburgh Poetry Festival (4-6 November 2011), plus a week's protected writing time on the inspirational East Suffolk coast.

Source: The Poetry Trust

Categories: Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news

Comments (0)

There are currently no comments for this article. Post a comment.

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment

Login now