T S Eliot Shadowing Scheme 2010

Article Image

‘A truly memorable experience'

Now in its fifth year, the T S Eliot Prize Shadowing Scheme invites secondary school students to shadow the judging panel for the Prize, Chair Anne Stevenson, Bernardine Evaristo and Michael Symmons Roberts.

Philip Gross, winner of the 2009 T S Eliot Prize says:

"This scheme puts young people right inside the inner workings of the great machine of poetry, in amongst the cogs and gears of creativity and judgement. It makes them part of it."

Students will once again be invited to read, study and debate some of the best poetry published in 2010 as featured in the collections of the ten shortlisted poets. The Shadowing Scheme's first four years have proved a great success with students in many UK secondary schools taking part and reading the work of the shortlisted poets.

The Poetry Book Society's Shadowing Scheme is run in partnership with the English and Media Centre through its quarterly magazine for A Level students, emagazine. On 21st October, the PBS will announce the shortlist for the 2010 T S Eliot Prize and the Shadowing Scheme will commence with two poems from each of the 10 shortlisted collections available to download. A teachers' guide will be provided at www.emagazine.org.uk from 5th October.

Students can take part in an online poll for their choice of winner and A Level students are invited to write a 500-word rationale justifying their choice of winner for the 2010 T S Eliot Prize, based on the sample poems.

The winning student will receive:

Tickets to the T S Eliot Prize Readings and the award ceremony in January; a full set of all 10 shortlisted collections; the opportunity to meet the T S Eliot prize-winner; a year's subscription to emagazine; a year's membership of the Poetry Book Society; a year's education membership of the Poetry Book Society for their school.

The winning student will also have their rationale published both in emagazine and in the Culture section of Guardian Online.

‘Winning such an award was a truly memorable experience with a once in a lifetime chance to attend the poetry readings by all the shortlisted poets and then converse with the poets themselves, including my personal favourite, Philip Gross, who even offered me help and advice on my choice of degree course.' Iona Singleton, last year's winner of the student writing competition.


Two poems from each of the shortlisted collections will be available from www.poetrybooks.co.uk/projects/15/ on 21st October. Copies of all the shortlisted titles can also be ordered through our online poetry bookshop.

The deadline for submitting competition entries and voting on the online poll is 20th December. Entries to the writing competition should be emailed here. The winner of the A Level student writing competition will be announced at the award ceremony in London on 24th January 2011.

The online poll at the English and Media Centre's website, also opens on 21st October.


Source: Poetry Book Society

Categories: Poetry News

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news

Comments (0)

There are currently no comments for this article. Post a comment.

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment

Login now