CLPE Poetry Award for 2010 - Winner Announced

Article Image

The Centre for Literacy in Primary Education is delighted to announce that the winner of the CLPE Poetry Award for 2010 is Carol Ann Duffy's New and Collected Poems for Children (Faber & Faber), illustrated by Alice Stevenson.

The presentation was made at the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education on Thursday September 30th 2010 by last year’s winner John Agard.

Other titles on the shortlist were:

James Carter and Graham Denton - Orange Silver Sausage (Walker);
Adrian Mitchell - Umpteen Pockets (Orchard);
Michael Rosen’s A to Z: The Best Children’s Poetry from Agard to Zephaniah (Puffin);
Kit Wright - The Magic Box (Macmillan);

The judges of the award this year were John Agard, Andrew Lambirth and Lindsay MacRae, chaired by Margaret Meek Spencer.

The awards were sponsored by Travelling Books.


Source: CLPE

Categories: Poetry News, Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news

Comments (0)

There are currently no comments for this article. Post a comment.

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment

Login now