Keats-Shelley Prize shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year's Keats-Shelley Prize, given in poetry and essay categories, has been announced. The theme for the poets this year was ice.

Poetry: Simon Armitage, Chris Edgoose, Charles Evans, Pat Winslow, Annemarie Austin, Gill Learner, Victor Tapner, Maitreyabandhu, Pat Borthwick, Martyn Crucefix, Emma Harding and Judy Brown.

Essays: Paul Keen, Andrew Lacey, Stacey McDowell, Emily Hockley and Cassandra Gorman.

The ceremony will take place on Wednesday 13 October at the British Academy in central London. The Chairman of the Judges, scholar and poet Jack Mapanje, will present the prizes and give a reading from Keats and Shelley combined with his own work.

Catherine Payling, Curator of the Shelley House, will show photographs of recent activities in Rome. The prize was established to encourage talented poets and essayists of all ages and walks of life to write on Romantic themes: poems of modern relevance and Romantic inspiration, and essays on Keats, Shelley, Byron or Mary Shelley.

Source: Bookbrunch

Categories: Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news

Comments (0)

There are currently no comments for this article. Post a comment.

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment

Login now