Venture Award Longlist Announced

Article Image

Posted: 28 November 2011

The award, which is in its first year, aims to identify the next generation of great poets through a pamphlet competition.

Due to the anonymous judging procedures, the longlist comprises the names of the writers without the titles of their submissions. The chosen poets are:

Rowyda Amin
Graham Burchell
Jasmine Cooray
Cath Drake
Doreen Hinchcliffe
Jodie Hollander
Christopher Huynh
Siân James
Russell Jones
David Keyworth
Deborah Lampitt
Andrew Martin
Cat Dickson
James Peake
Sarah B Westcott

A shortlist of up to six poets determined by this year's judge, Jacob Sam-La Rose, will be announced in late February 2012. The overall winner of the 2011 Venture Award will be announced in April 2012. The winning poet will receive £1,000 and flipped eye publishing will release a pamphlet of their work in July 2012.

The Venture Award - named in memory of Wilfred Alfred Venture, a descendant of composer, actor and writer Ignatius Sancho, and influential mentor in his lifetime - was launched in the run-up to flipped eye publishing's tenth anniversary to recognise an outstanding submission of fifteen pages of poetry with publication and a cash prize. In keeping with flipped eye publishing's international and varied output, an advisory board, based in North America and the UK, of poets, critics and editors with a keen ear for true innovation, talent and creativity in poetry, was assembled. It comprises; Dr Nathalie Teitler, a Latin American poetry scholar; Fred D'Aguiar, an award-winning poet and lecturer; Dr Lauri Ramey, a poetry critic, author and scholar; Jeremy Poynting, founder and editor of Peepal Tree Press; and Christian Campbell, a poet, scholar and recent winner of the Aldeburgh First Collection Prize. The advisory board will aid the judge in his selection of the overall winner of the award.

About the Judge:

Jacob Sam-La Rose is a poet, performer, educator and editor who has performed and taught internationally. His work has been published in several anthologies and his début pamphlet collection, Communion (2006), was a Poetry Book Society Pamphlet Choice. His first full collection, Breaking Silence, was released by Bloodaxe Books earlier this year. Jacob is known for his work with city-wide, national and international youth poetry initiatives and for his advocacy for positive impacts of new technology on literary and artistic practice and collaboration. He has led workshops and seminars at Botswana University and for the Ministry of Education in Malaysia through the British Council as well as commissions and projects with organisations such as the National Theatre, The Barbican, London Open House, Glyndebourne, The Roundhouse, and The Royal Festival Hall.

Source: flipped eye

Categories: Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news