The Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry

Article Image

Posted: 10 November 2011

The judges of the Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry 2011 are currently accepting recommendations from Poetry Society and Poetry Book Society members. The award, now in its third year, brings into focus the many ways poets engage with other art forms, and the extraordinary range of work they create. Examples of some projects can be found on our New Work page, although this list is by no means exhaustive.

Poetry Society members will have received recommendation forms in their most recent mailing, with Poetry Book Society members due to receive the paperwork in November with their Winter Bulletin. Alternatively, members may download a Word document version of the form and submit a recommendation by email.

Members have until 6 January 2012 to make their recommendations, which will be considered by judges Edmund de Waal, Sarah Maguire and Michael Symmons Roberts. The winner will be announced, along with the winner of the National Poetry Competition 2011, on Wednesday 28 March 2012. For more information about previous winners Alice Oswald and Kaite O'Reilly see our history section.

About the Prize

In 2011, for the second year, members of the Poetry Society and Poetry Book Society were invited to recommend a living UK poet, working in any form, who has made the most exciting contribution to poetry. The £5,000 prize is donated by Carol Ann Duffy, funded from the annual honorarium the Poet Laureate traditionally receives from HM The Queen. The Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry seeks to recognise excellence in poetry, highlighting outstanding contributions made by poets to our cultural life.

"In order to thrive, poetry must always be open to the world it inhabits. This means that it's vital for poets to engage with other art forms. A poet can learn as much about their craft from closely examining the work of other artists as they can from poetry itself."

Sarah Maguire, judge of The Ted Hughes Award 2011

Source: The Poetry Society

Categories: Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news