CLPE Poetry Award 2011 - Winner Announced

Article Image

Posted: 6 July 2011

The Centre for Literacy in Primary Education is delighted to announce that the winner of the CLPE Poetry Award for 2011 is Philip Gross for Off Road to Everywhere, illustrated by Jonathan Gross (Salt Publishing).

The CLPE Poetry Award, sponsored by school book fair company Travelling Books, was awarded to Philip Gross last night for his children's poetry collection Off Road to Everywhere. Judge Julia Eccleshare, Co-chair of the Centre for Learning in Primary Education, praised Gross for his brilliant writing and the judges also highly commended Mandy Coe for her outstanding If You Could See Laughter.

Philip Gross won the 2008 T S Eliot Prize and has written for Poetry Portal on the difference this and other prize wins have made to his career as a poet. His book was the first collection to be published in Salt Publishing's new children's poetry list, which also contributed Phil Bowen's Cuckoo Rock to the shortlist. The judges were delighted to see the flow of high quality new children's poetry collections coming from the new Salt list.

Off Road to Everywhere was described by Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy, last year's winner of the prize and a judge as, "an outstanding winner for this Award" while fellow judge Fiona Waters who is also a previous winner said, "This is wonderful stuff. Here are real, proper poems which are full of beauty and imagination. I loved it!"

Philip Gross is Professor of Creative Writing at Glamorgan University. His collections of poetry for adults and children include The Water Table, which won the T. S. Eliot Prize, and The All-Nite Café which won the Signal Award. Philip Gross is also the author of ten teenage novels - most recently Going for Stone, The Lastling and The Storm Garden.

The judges selected If You Could See Laughter by Mandy Coe to be Highly Commended.

The shortlisted titles are Everybody Was a Baby Once by Allan Ahlberg, illustrated by Bruce Ingman (Walker); Cuckoo Rock by Phil Bowen, illustrated by Fred James (Salt Publishing); A Million Brilliant Poems (part one) edited by Roger Stevens, illustrated by Jessie Ford  (A & C Black).

The CLPE Poetry Award which was judged this year by Carol Ann Duffy, Andrew Lambirth and Fiona Waters, honours excellence in poetry written for children. Previous winners include Jackie Kay, Roger McGough, Fiona Waters, Carol Ann Duffy, Grace Nichols and John Agard.

The 2011 award was sponsored by Travelling Books.

For further information, please contact:
Ann Lazim 020 7902 2287

Source: CLPE

Categories: Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news

Comments (0)

There are currently no comments for this article. Post a comment.

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment

Login now