The Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition

Article Image

With a first prize of £5000 and lesser prizes of £1000, £500 and £50 (x 2), the Edwin Morgan International Poetry Competition is one of the richest poetry prizes in Britain and last year attracted over 1000 entries.

The competition is named in honour of Edwin Morgan, widely recognised as one of the most significant poets of the twentieth century, Morgan's Collected Poems were published by Carcanet in 1990 and his Collected Translations in 1996, also by Carcanet. Since then, however, he has been as prolific as ever, publishing some thirteen books of further poems, translations and plays, most recently Tales from Baron Munchausen (Mariscat Press, 2004) and The Play of Gilgamesh (Carcanet, 2005).

Among the many honours and awards Edwin Morgan has received are an OBE in 1982, the Soros Translation Award (1985), The Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry (2000), the Weidenfeld Translation Prize (2001) and the Jackie Forster Memorial Award for Culture (2003). His excellent website may be visited at

The competition is one of the richest prizes for poetry in Europe. It has a first prize of £5000, a second prize of £1000, a third prize of £500 and two runner-up prizes of £50. These prizes are made available through the generous sponsorship of The University of Strathclyde. Further sponsorship and help is provided by The Edinburgh International Book Festival who also host the annual prize giving in August each year.

This is the fourth year the competition has run. For more information please see

Source: StAnza

Categories: Poetry News

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news