Newcomer Paul Adrian wins National Poetry Competition

Article Image

Posted: 25 March 2011

The winners of the 2010 National Poetry Competition were announced at a prize giving ceremony on 24 March 2011. You can find details of the winners (as chosen by judges Sinéad Morrissey, Deryn Rees-Jones and George Szirtes) below. Click on the links to read their poems and the poems of the seven commended poets.The top three winning poems will also be published in the spring issue of Poetry Review.

First Prize: ‘Robin In Flight' by Paul Adrian
Joint Second Prize: ‘Wish' by Josephine Haslam, ‘A History of Glassblowing' by Matthew Sweeney

Commended Poems:
‘Visiting The Country of My Birth' by Carmen Bugan
‘juju baby' by Caroline Carver
‘Boy With A Knife' by Vicki Feaver
‘The Sleep of Wasps' by Giles Goodland
‘Joy' by Ann Gray
‘Tonguesplay' by David Thorley
'Stubble' by John Wedgwood Clarke

The winner of the Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry was announced at the same event.

About the National Poetry Competition

Established in 1978, the National Poetry Competition is one of the longest running and widely respected single poem poetry competitions.Winning has given an important boost to a plethora of now widely known poets, including current Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy and 2009 T.S. Eliot Prize-winner Philip Gross. It is judged anonymously by a new set of judges each year.

Source: The Poetry Society

Categories: Poetry Prizes

Bookmark and Share

« Back to news